friday

Standard

Having a quiet afternoon at home. Green lentil soup on the stove. I just made some kale chips which got a bit more charred than I hoped. I started doing my taxes but then Turbo Tax said “If this is your situation, consult a tax expert”. Oh dear, I thought YOU were the tax expert, Turbo Tax!

The days have varied. Some of them have been cold but clear and sunny. Then days like today, where the fog never lifts. The clouds never breaks and twilight starts to descend early, and I feel like I have trouble getting a foothold on the day. I’m surprised at how much time can pass daydreaming.

Last night: John hopped onto the running board of the truck, by the driver’s side window. The truck was going slowly. I was in the back seat of the large cab. It was a two door truck, so there was no door to the back seat but there was a window. John motioned for me to roll down the window. He said “I can just climb in this way”. It made me nervous but also giggly at the ridiculousness of it. The driver said “I could just stop” but John said “No, this is easy!” He climbed in awkwardly sticking his head and limbs in.  Then settled in, sat back, and I sat back with his arm around my shoulder. Comforting. He asked “Where are we going, anyway?”

This morning: A brief visit to the oncology clinic to have my port checked out and cleaned for the month.  That reminded me that it had been almost a year since my car had had a similar service, so I went to Jiffy Lube afterward. The mechanic showed me the various parts they take out of your engine and said “These still look good. They don’t need replacing yet”, which was a first. I never know what they are supposed to look like but usually you have to replace something.

I sat in the waiting room reading “Living with a Wild God” while a one eyed dog sitting next to his person looked at me politely. A grandmother came in with two children in tow, all wearing Seahawks gear. The mechanic said “You ladies can have a seat and I’ll be right with you”. When he left the room the sister teased the brother “Ha! Ha! He called you a lady!” The grandmother said “I’m sure he was just in a hurry, and didn’t notice as you are both dressed the same”. The boy said “I don’t care” and “Are we still going to Dairy Queen after this?”

Leave a comment